Ready for Spring break?

Spring break is usually a high stress time, especially for me. Not only do I want everything to go according to plan, but diet and exercise become crucial in my life. The bikini shopping can be a bit nerve-racking, and trying to prep your body for this time can cause even more stress. In the past I have done some pretty harsh binge diets that affected my body and mind in a negative way. They left me tired, exhausted and to top it off, I got hardly any real results. I became very frustrated with the work I put in and the lack of results. I definitely know now that slow and steady does indeed win the race.

This past year I decided to try something new, I prepared my body by doing Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred workout series. This workout was the best thing I could have done for myself and it made me realize, there is no such thing as a quick fix. By the end of the 30 days, I was more toned, lean and healthy then I had ever been. Not only did I stick to the workout, but I dedicated special time to reward myself. However the reward was not food! Instead I bought myself a nail polish, or new clothing, this turned out to be much more rewarding, without the guilt! I stuck to a diet that didn’t leave me completely exhausted and overwhelmed. This worked! Of course there were the days where I may have slipped up and got some fries, but I learned that this was healthy. Everything in moderation, even moderation.

For this special time in a young ladies’ life, as a college student, try not to stress! Everyone is unique and beautiful in their own special way. There is no “perfect” body type, and not everyone will gain the same results. I think it’s important to remember that health should always come before appearance. As long as you are healthy, your mind and body will gain much more rewarding satisfaction!

Leave a Reply

